Shahi Imam of Jama Masjid, Ahmed Bukhari announced on Thursday that the festival of Eid ul-Fitr will be celebrated on Saturday, June 16. Except for Kerala.Muslims celebrate Eid ul-Fitr on the first day of the 10th month of Shawwal. It officially begins with the sighting of the new moon after sunset that also marks the end of the holy month of Ramadan.The announcement from Shahi Imam in India came after there was no moonsighting on Thursday, across the country. Same is not the case with a lot of other countries that follow Saudi Arabia and Turkey’s lunar calendar. Saudi Arabia announced that the Shawwal moon was sighted in the country on Thursday evening, therefore, they will celebrate Eid on Friday, June 15.Following are the countries that will enjoy the festivities on Friday, June 15.Saudi Arabia Afghanistan Albania Armenia Australia (Only Lebanese & Turkish Communities) Austria Azerbaijan Bahrain Bangladesh (Some areas that follow Saudi Arabia’s lunar calendar) Belgium Bolivia Burkina Faso Chechnia Denmark Finland Georgia Hungary Iceland Iraq (Sunnis that follow Saudi Arabia’s lunar calendar) Italy Japan Jordan Kazakhstan Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Lebanon Mauritania Norway (Some communities that follow Saudi Arabia) Palestine Qatar Romania Russia Singapore Sudan Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tatarstan Togo Turkmenistan UAE Uzbekistan Yemen Here are the countries that follow Turkey’s Lunar calendar (European Council for Fatwa & Research) they too will celebrate Eid on Friday, June 15. Turkey Angola Bosnia and Hercegovina Bulgaria Canada (Communities that follow FCNA) Croatia France Germany Ireland Kosovo Luxembourg Macedonia Montenegro Slovenia Serbia USA China, Egypt, Poland, Scotland, and Tunisia follow their own procedure of calculating moonsighting. These five countries will be celebrating Eid on June 15.Countries like India, Pakistan, Indonesia, many of the Asian countries with Muslim majority follow their own lunar calendar. Their month calculations are based on correct and authentic moonsighting that also considers the scientific timings for moonset. Saudi Arabia uses a pre-calculated civil Islamic calendar that is sometimes adjusted for religious months (Ramadan, Shawwal, and Dhul-Hijjah). If per these calculations, 30 days are completed by their pre-calculated civil calendar then they start new month even if the moon is not sighted on the 30th day. Therefore there are two Eid dates.Following is a list of countries that have announced official date of celebrating Eid.India – June 16 Indonesia – June 15 Maldives – June 15 Nigeria – June 15 Philippines – June 15 Spain – June 15 UK – June 15 USA – June 15​​ Following are the countries that celebrate Eid according to local moon sighting.Australia – June 16 Barbados – June 15 Ghana – June 15 Kenya – June 15 Mali – June 15 Mauritius – June 16 Morocco – June 15 Namibia – June 15 New Zealand – June 16 Niger – June 15 Pakistan – June 16 Senegal – June 15 South Africa – June 15 Sri Lanka – June 16 Tanzania – June 15 Zambia – June 15 Zimbabwe – June 15 The month of Ramadan/Ramzan started on May 16 for 2018. Eid ul-Fitr will be a public holiday in India. Muslims will offer early prayers at mosques or other outdoor venues. They will exchange gifts, celebrate the festival with a feast and surrounded by friends and family.

Saudi Arabia

Jama Masjid

Eid ul-Fitr

Shahi Imam Ahmed Bukhari

moon sightings

ramadan 2018

Ramzan 2018

Eid ul-Fitr 2018

<!–end of artlbotbor–>

View original:

Eid ul-Fitr moon sighting and date to celebrate Eid: All you need to know