Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala’s decision to invite BJP, the single-largest party but short of majority to form government in Karnataka had a domino effect on Thursday.Congress said it was the single-largest party in Goa, Manipur and Meghalaya but was not invited to form government and demanded that Assemblies in those states be dissolved. RJD, too, made a similar demand in Bihar.”On the basis of the rule followed in Karnataka, Congress, being the single-largest party, should be re-invited to form government in Goa, Meghalaya and Manipur,” said Congress spokesperson Randeep Surjewala.Congress leader and AICC Secretary Dr A Chella Kumar, in-charge of Goa affairs, rushed to Panjim on Thursday to stake claim to form government.Congress with 17 seats had emerged as the single-largest party in the 40-member Goa Assembly in March 2017 but the Governor, Mridula Sinha, invited BJP, having 12 MLAs, to form government in a post-poll coalition with MGP and GFP.“We have 16 legislators and are the single-largest party in Goa. The Governor should invite us to form government as per the precedent set by her Karnataka counterpart,” said Dr Kumar.Congress legislature party chief Chandrakant Kavlekar said, “We will stake claim on Friday by submitting a formal letter containing signatures of all 16 MLAs to the Governor.” In Bihar, Tejashwi Yadav, former deputy chief minister, also requested Governor Satya Pal Malik to dissolve the Nitish Kumar-led JD(U)-BJP coalition government and invite RJD to form government. In a pre-poll alliance, RJD had emerged as the single-largest party with 80 seats in the 2015 Bihar elections, while JD(U) with 70 seats and Congress with 27 had finished second and fourth, respectively. But later, JD(U) allied with BJP, having 53 seats, to form government with the help of smaller parties like LJP, RLSP and Independents.“Like in Karnataka, the Governor should invite the single-largest party, which in Bihar is RJD. I and MLAs will meet the Governor as we are the single-largest party of Bihar,” Yadav said.RJD has decided to hold a one-day dharna on Friday against the “murder of democracy in Karnataka”. In Manipur, former Congress chief minister Ibobi Singh also raised a similar demand. In the March 2017 elections, Congress with 28 members had emerged as the single-largest party in the 60-member Assembly leaving behind BJP on the second spot with 21 MLAs. However, on being called by Governor Najma Heptullah, BJP managed to form government through a post-poll tie up with NPP, NPF, LJP and winning over one MLA from Congress.

Tejashwi Yadav

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)

JD (S)

Randeep Surjewala

Mridula Sinha


Vajubhai Vala

Chandrakant Kavlekar

Satya Pal Malik

Karnataka Assembly Election 2018

Karnataka Election 2018

Karnataka poll results

Join the discussion<!–end of artlbotbor–>
I don’t have a blueprint: Rajeev Khandelwal on his career journey
Shahid Kapoor’s ‘Batti Gul Meter Chalu’ finally resumes shooting
I take pressure of audience expectations as a positive thing, says ‘Raazi’ star Vicky Kaushal
Geetanjali Thapa now laughs off comments saying ‘she is not Indian enough’
IIFA 2018: Karan Johar, Riteish Deshmukh set to host Bangkok chapter
Ranbir Kapoor: I have a boy crush on Alia Bhatt now
Salman Khan shares new still from Race 3 because well, ‘Buss mood Kiya’
Shah Rukh Khan’s contribution becomes one of the hilarious jokes in ‘Deadpool 2’
Marathi film ‘Nude’ wins the ‘Best Film’ award at the New York Indian Film Festival 2018
Raazi: Did you know it was Akshay Kumar who actually introduced author Harinder Sikka to Meghna Gulzar?
Months after misconduct allegation, Aziz Ansari returns to standup scene in New York
Watch Deadpool give impassioned account of Phase One of their Cinematic Universe

See original article: 

Karnataka effect: Congress, RJD ‘stake claim’ in Goa, Manipur, Bihar